Description

<p><b>A compelling historical crime novel set in the Greek diaspora of 1950s London – that's inspired by a true story – <i>The Unspeakable Acts of Zina Pavlou</i> is perfect for fans of Sara Collins, Eve Chase and Jessie Burton.</b></p><p><b>They say she's killed. They say she's guilty. She says nothing.</b></p><p><b>London, 1954.</b> Eva Georgiou has just returned from her shift at the glamorous Café de Paris, when she's summoned to her second job: Greek interpreter for the Metropolitan Police. There, she is tasked with representing Zina Pavlou, a Cypriot woman who has been accused of the brutal murder of her daughter-in-law who has been bludgeoned, strangled and then set alight.</p><p>As Eva works on the case as Zina's translator, her concern grows that the case may be more complicated than it seems. Then Zina drops a bombshell: she's been accused of murder once before, years ago in Cyprus.</p><p>While Eva's obsession with the case deepens, so does her bond with Zina. And soon she will discover that when you lend your voice to an accused murderer, it comes at a devastating cost.</p><p><b>'An absorbing tale of race and class, discrimination and prejudice... It will be a long time before I can get Zina Pavlou out of my head.' Sam Baker, author of <i>The Shift</i></b></p>

ISBN
9781837930357
Imprint
Head of Zeus -- an Aries Book
Category
Fiction
Published
Pages
400
Annotation

<p>Inspired by a true story, <i>The Unspeakable Acts of Zina Pavlou</i> is a historical crime novel set in the Greek diaspora of 1950s London about a woman accused of murder and the translator working on her trial.</p>

Region Exclusive
AD AE AF AG AI AL AM AO AQ AR AS AT AU AW AX AZ BA BB BD BE BF BG BH BI BJ BL BM BN BO BQ BR BS BT BV BW BY BZ CA CC CD CF CG CH CI CK CL CM CN CO CR CU CV CW CX CY CZ DE DJ DK DM DO DZ EC EE EG EH ER ES ET FI FJ FK FM FO FR GA GD GE GF GG GH GI GL GM GN GP GQ GR GS GT GU GW GY HK HM HN HR HT HU ID IE IL IM IN IO IQ IR IS IT JE JM JO JP KE KG KH KI KM KN KP KR KW KY KZ LA LB LC LI LK LR LS LT LU LV LY MA MC MD ME MF MG MH MK ML MM MN MO MP MQ MR MS MT MU MV MW MX MY MZ NA NC NE NF NG NI NL NO NP NR NU NZ OM PA PE PF PG PH PK PL PM PN PR PS PT PW PY QA RE RO RS RU RW SA SB SC SD SE SG SH SI SJ SK SL SM SN SO SR SS ST SV SX SY SZ TC TD TF TG TH TJ TK TL TM TN TO TR TT TV TW TZ UA UG UM US UY UZ VA VC VE VG VI VN VU WF WS YE YT ZA ZM ZW
Region Excluded
GB
Quotes

'An absorbing tale of race and class, discrimination and prejudice... It will be a long time before I can get Zina Pavlou out of my head'

Sam Baker, author of The Shift

Editions
ISBN
9781837930326
Format
eBook
Title
The Unspeakable Acts of Zina Pavlou
Price_Amount
7.99
ISBN
9781837930340
Format
Hardback
Title
The Unspeakable Acts of Zina Pavlou
Price_Amount
20.00
ISBN
9781837930357
Format
Trade Paperback
Title
The Unspeakable Acts of Zina Pavlou
Price_Amount
15.99
Prices
[{"currency":"GBP","amount":"15.99","countries":"GB GI AI KY MS PN TC SH GS BM IO VG FK GG JE IM"}]
BIC Code
FFH
Genre
Export Only
On
Sales Points

<p>The author is the daughter of Greek Cypriot immigrants. She lives in London.</p>

<p>Inspired by the true story of Styllou Christofi, the penultimate woman to be executed in Britain.</p>

<p>A gripping historical crime novel that is as dark and shocking as it is touching and emotional.</p>

<p>MARKET: Sara Collins; Eve Chase; Jessie Burton; Emma Flint; Leila Slimani.</p>

Measure X
148
Measure
mm
Measure Y
229
Is Primary Edition
Off