Description

<h2>A PhD student uncovers dark secrets among her academic associates in this 'richly atmospheric and irresistibly readable' (Joyce Carol Oates) Gothic mystery set between Scotland, Italy, and France. For fans of <i>The Secret History</i>. </h2><p>Fleeing a disastrous affair with a colleague in Boston, Isabel Henley moves to Scotland to begin a PhD with a renowned feminist professor – only to learn, upon arrival, that her advisor has suffered a deadly fall. Soon after, Isabel is informed that another scholar at the university is about to publish a book on her dissertation topic, leaving her disconcerted and in search of a new subject, all while struggling to acclimate to her new home abroad.</p><p>Isabel needs a good friend during such a rocky start, and finds one when she reconnects with Rose Brewster, her charismatic former classmate. But when Rose confides to Isabel that she is in trouble, and then goes missing, Isabel's already unsteady life is sent into a tailspin. A suicide note surfaces, followed by a coded message: Rose is alive but, unless Isabel can complete the research begun before her friend's disappearance, both women will be killed by her captors.</p><p>As Isabel follows Rose's paper trail from Genoa to Florence and, finally, to Paris, she uncovers family secrets, the legend of an enormous cursed emerald, and a chain of betrayal and treason which parallels her own perilous present. If she can put the pieces together soon, she could solve a 400-year-old mystery... and save her and her friend's lives in the process.</p><p>Combining epistolary elements, Gothic suspense, and an atmospheric 'dark academia' setting, <i>The Bequest</i> is a gripping literary thriller that will appeal to fans of Alex Michaelides and Donna Tartt.</p>

ISBN
9781804548943
Imprint
Head of Zeus -- an Aries Book
Category
Fiction
Published
Pages
312
Annotation

<p>A PhD student uncovers dark secrets among her academic associates in this Gothic mystery set between Scotland, Italy, and France.</p>

Region Exclusive
AG AI AU BB BD BM BN BS BT BW BZ CC CK CM CX DM FJ FK FO GD GH GM GS GY HM IE IM IN IO JE JM KE KI KN KY LC LK LS MM MS MU MV MW MY MZ NA NF NG NP NR NU NZ PG PN SB SC SD SG SH SL SO SZ TC TK TO TT TV TZ UG VC VG VU WS YE ZA ZM ZW
Region Non-Exclusive
AD AE AF AL AM AO AQ AR AT AW AX AZ BA BE BF BG BH BI BJ BL BO BQ BR BV BY CD CF CG CH CI CL CN CO CR CU CV CW CY CZ DE DJ DK DO DZ EC EE EG EH ER ES ET FI FR GA GE GF GG GI GL GN GP GQ GR GT GW HK HN HR HT HU ID IL IQ IR IS IT JO JP KG KH KM KP KR KW KZ LA LB LI LR LT LU LV LY MA MC MD ME MF MG MK ML MN MO MQ MR MT MX NE NI NL NO OM PA PE PF PK PL PM PS PT PW PY QA RE RO RS RU RW SA SE SI SJ SK SM SN SR SS ST SV SX SY TD TF TG TH TJ TL TM TN TR TW UA UY UZ VA VE VN WF YT
Region Excluded
AS CA FM GB GU MH MP PH PR UM US VI
Quotes

'Richly atmospheric and irresistibly readable'

Joyce Carol Oates

'Intricately plotted, exquisitely written, and brimming with atmosphere, <i>The Bequest</i> is a brilliant debut, as smart as it is compelling'

Tasha Alexander

'A first rate mystery by a first time author. Intriguing plot and well drawn characters'

Martin Cruz Smith

'This one will appeal to lovers of Dan Brown and Elizabeth Kostova and other mysteries of old documents and historical figures'

Kirkus

'Readers will eagerly await Margaret's next'

Publishers Weekly

'There are two attractions here: the present-day academic whodunnit and the olden puzzle revealed in Renaissance letters; viewers of the Netflix series <i>The Chair</i> will eat this up, as will readers of Philippa Gregory and Robert J. Lloyd'

First Clue

Editions
ISBN
9781804548943
Format
Trade Paperback
Title
The Bequest
Price_Amount
15.99
ISBN
9781804548950
Format
Hardback
Title
The Bequest
Price_Amount
20.00
ISBN
9781804548974
Format
eBook
Title
The Bequest
Price_Amount
4.99
Prices
[{"currency":"GBP","amount":"15.99","countries":"GB GI AI KY MS PN TC SH GS BM IO VG FK GG JE IM"}]
BIC Code
FH
Genre
Export Only
On
Sales Points

<p>Gripping debut novel by American art historian based in NYC.</p>

<p>Heady mix of Gothic suspense, mystery and thriller for fans of Donna Tartt and Elizabeth Kostova.</p>

<p>MARKET: Alex Michaelides; Donna Tartt; Elizabeth Kostova.</p>

Measure X
148
Measure
mm
Measure Y
229
Is Primary Edition
Off