Author
Description

<p><b>The sins of the past echo in the present in the new literary thriller from Rachael Blok.</b></p><p><i>The wind is cold this high up. The man shouts out, but nobody hears. The cathedral roof has caught his fall, but it will not hold him for long. The night is dark. And it is such a long way down...</i></p><p>On Good Friday, the verger of St Albans cathedral was supposed to be preparing the Easter service. Instead he discovers a man lying dead, fallen from the famous fifty-foot-high spire. Did he jump, or was he pushed?</p><p>For DCI Maarten Jansen, it's a simple case of suspected suicide. Until a stranger, Willow, who witnessed the jump, prompts a deeper investigation into a long-buried past, involving a mental hospital, a pregnant woman, and fifty years of silence. As Willow's own family history entwines with the case, Jaansen starts to wonder how everything is connected.</p><p><i>The Fall</i> is a haunting literary thriller about loss, trauma, silence, and how our past shapes who we are.</p>

ISBN
9781838931773
Imprint
Head of Zeus -- an Aries Book
Category
Fiction
Published
Pages
400
Annotation

<p>Maarten Jansen, of St Albans police, unearths long-buried secrets in the new thriller from Rachael Blok.</p>

Region Exclusive
AD AE AF AG AI AL AM AO AQ AR AS AT AU AW AX AZ BA BB BD BE BF BG BH BI BJ BL BM BN BO BQ BR BS BT BV BW BY BZ CA CC CD CF CG CH CI CK CL CM CN CO CR CU CV CW CX CY CZ DE DJ DK DM DO DZ EC EE EG EH ER ES ET FI FJ FK FM FO FR GA GB GD GE GF GG GH GI GL GM GN GP GQ GR GS GT GU GW GY HK HM HN HR HT HU ID IE IL IM IN IO IQ IR IS IT JE JM JO JP KE KG KH KI KM KN KP KR KW KY KZ LA LB LC LI LK LR LS LT LU LV LY MA MC MD ME MF MG MH MK ML MM MN MO MP MQ MR MS MT MU MV MW MX MY MZ NA NC NE NF NG NI NL NO NP NR NU NZ OM PA PE PF PG PH PK PL PM PN PR PS PT PW PY QA RE RO RS RU RW SA SB SC SD SE SG SH SI SJ SK SL SM SN SO SR SS ST SV SX SY SZ TC TD TF TG TH TJ TK TL TM TN TO TR TT TV TW TZ UA UG UM US UY UZ VA VC VE VG VI VN VU WF WS YE YT ZA ZM ZW
Quotes

<b>PRAISE FOR RACHAEL BLOK</b>: <br />
'Rachael Blok's amusing update of Agatha Christie finds time to highlight working conditions in Bangladeshi factories in addition to uncovering a wicked plot involving blackmail and murder' <i>The Times</i>. <br />
'Richly textured ... An engrossing and twisty procedural' <i>Sunday Times</i> Crime Club. <br />
'This atmospheric novel is a slow burn – but well worth it' <i>Heat</i>. <br />
'Gripping, twisty and immensely satisfying, <i>The Scorched Earth</i> confirms Blok's talent' <i>Daily Mail</i>. <br />
'A scorchingly good thriller'

Sunday Mirror

Editions
ISBN
9781838931742
Format
Hardback
Title
The Fall
ISBN
9781838931759
Format
Trade Paperback
Title
The Fall
ISBN
9781838931773
Format
eBook
Title
The Fall
Prices
[{"currency":"GBP","amount":"7.99","countries":"GB GI AI KY MS PN TC SH GS BM IO VG FK GG JE IM"}]
Image
Format
BIC Code
FH
Genre
Export Only
Off
Sales Points

<p>Police procedural meets psychological thriller, for fans of Jane Harper and Gytha Lodge.</p>

<p>Set in St Albans at Easter, by a St Albans writer.</p>

<p>A favourite of the crime critics.</p>

<p>MARKET: Jane Harper; Gytha Lodge; Ruth Ware.</p>

Is Primary Edition
On