Description

<p><b>A remarkable debut novel about women's relationships – with each other and with the men in their lives – and the rise of fundamentalism in India today. </b></p><p><i>'When the light shifts, you see the world differently.'</i></p><p>A superbly nuanced work of fiction, Anindita Ghose's first novel <i>The Illuminated</i> revolves around two women: Shashi and Tara. After the sudden death of her celebrated husband, Shashi is alarmed to realize that overnight, she has lost her life's moorings. Meanwhile, their fiercely independent daughter Tara, a Sanskrit scholar, has been drawn into a passionate involvement with an older man, which threatens to consume her in ways she did not imagine possible.</p><p>Amidst a rising tide of religious fundamentalism in India that is determined to put women in their place, Shashi and Tara attempt to look at themselves, and at each other, in a new light. But is it possible to emerge from an eclipse unscathed?</p><p>An astonishing feat of the imagination, <i>The Illuminated</i> is as sophisticated in the quality of its prose as it is provocative in its thematic focus on questions of identity. A remarkable novel of ideas, it marks the arrival of a tremendous new literary talent.</p>

ISBN
9781803289786
Imprint
Apollo
Category
Fiction
Published
Pages
304
Annotation

<p>A debut novel about women's relationships – with each other and with the men in their lives. Against the rise of fundamentalism in India, mother and daughter Shashi and Tara are forced to reexamine their relationship after the death of Shashi's husband.</p>

Region Exclusive
AD AE AF AG AI AL AM AO AQ AR AT AU AW AX AZ BA BB BD BE BF BG BH BI BJ BL BM BN BO BQ BR BS BT BV BW BY BZ CC CD CF CG CH CI CK CL CM CN CO CR CU CV CW CX CY CZ DE DJ DK DM DO DZ EC EE EG EH ER ES ET FI FJ FK FO FR GA GD GE GF GG GH GI GL GM GN GP GQ GR GS GT GW GY HK HM HN HR HT HU ID IE IL IM IO IQ IR IS IT JE JM JO JP KE KG KH KI KM KN KP KR KW KY KZ LA LB LC LI LK LR LS LT LU LV LY MA MC MD ME MF MG MH MK ML MM MN MO MQ MR MS MT MU MV MW MX MY MZ NA NC NE NF NG NI NL NO NP NR NU NZ OM PA PE PF PG PK PL PM PN PS PT PW PY QA RE RO RS RU RW SA SB SC SD SE SG SH SI SJ SK SL SM SN SO SR SS ST SV SX SY SZ TC TD TF TG TH TJ TK TL TM TN TO TR TT TV TW TZ UA UG UY UZ VA VC VE VG VN VU WF WS YE YT ZA ZM ZW
Region Excluded
IN AS CA FM GB GU MH MP PH PR UM US VI
Quotes

'Lyrical throughout yet so deceptively easygoing... <i>The Illuminated</i> is an extraordinary novel'

André Aciman, author of Call Me By Your Name

'An incisive portrayal of the abusve and exploitation that thrives as duty, perhaps even attraction, in relationships'

Shubhangi Swarup

'A novel of such self-assurance one can scarcely believe it is the author's first'

Shanta Gokhale

'Sad and funny and wise, <i>The Illuminated</i> is one of those books that will make you hug your loved ones tight'

Akhil Sharma

Editions
ISBN
9781803289755
Format
eBook
Title
The Illuminated
Price_Amount
7.99
ISBN
9781803289779
Format
Hardback
Title
The Illuminated
Price_Amount
20.00
ISBN
9781803289786
Format
Trade Paperback
Title
The Illuminated
Price_Amount
15.99
Prices
[{"currency":"GBP","amount":"15.99","countries":"GB GI AI KY MS PN TC SH GS BM IO VG FK GG JE IM"}]
Image
BIC Code
FA
Genre
Export Only
On
Sales Points

<p>A novel with a strong focus on women and their relationships, with a complicated and fascinating mother/daughter relationship at its core, <i>The Illuminated</i> is perfect for fans of Min Jin Lee, Avni Doshi and Monica Ali.</p>

<p>The author is a journalist (formerly <i>Vogue India</i>) with a strong following on social media – 20k on Twitter and 6k on Instagram – and happy to do events to help publicise her book in the UK (<i>The Illuminated</i> has already published in India and has been widely and positively reviewed). The novel will be a strong contender for debut novel prizes and women's literary prizes.</p>

<p><i>'I wanted to write a novel about women emerging from the glare of patriarchy to find their own light, framed in alternating chapters about a mother and daughter from India. The book has a lunar scheme and the right-wing socio-political milieu and the #MeToo movement both inform the narrative.'</i></p>

Measure X
148
Measure
mm
Measure Y
229
Is Primary Edition
Off